Ms P. and the terrible underutilization of Malawi’s human capital

I read this in 2012, and thought sadly how Gerald could be a Rockfeller of Malawi, and yet still working for us as a survey supervisor (essentially). Of course, Gerald eventually did go to college to become a logistician – more likely to end up in the private sector – after I left for Seoul.

MethodLogical

P. (name redacted for her privacy, unless she tells me she’d rather have me post it here) is one of the strongest candidates I interviewed for a position as a supervisor on my project. Smart and motivated, she’d like to end up starting her own business someday. But she couldn’t find a private-sector job right out of college, so ended up working on a survey, where she quickly moved up into a supervisory role. That situation changed recently – she let me know she’d be going for another interview with a private company, and probably couldn’t serve on the project. Talented as she is, this was something of a relief for me, since it made a very difficult choice between applicants a little bit easier.

But it also highlighted one of the absurdities of doing fieldwork over here. Every one of the people who applied to work on my study…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

