Tomato and Egg, Chinese Style

Learn how to cook, said C. I already know how to–well, enough to survive, I replied, rather startled. You only know how to cook food for a party of seven or eight people, C retorted, and do you know how hard it is to cook only for a single person? How much time do you think you can muster each day for the kitchen anyway? He shut me up immediately. So I plan to collect recipes on WordPress – and though not quite the Korean dish, I love this one, and there was an excellent recipe on Tamarind and Thyme.

Tamarind and Thyme

After many consecutive days of eating out, I really wanted some soothing, not very oily food at home. Rice was what I wanted. Rice and…. what would fit the bill? Well, it’s only been recently that a certain Chinese dish of stir fried egg and tomato has entered my repertoire and it was exactly what we were looking for – simple, though tasty, food that goes very well with a bit of fluffy white rice. All that was needed was some blanched broccoli with oyster sauce on the side.

Now, I don’t claim to be an authority on this dish; this is just the way that I cook it!

Stir Fried Egg and Tomato

Tomato and Egg, Chinese Style
serves 2 as part of a Chinese meal with rice

4 medium eggs
1 small onion, cut in half and then sliced lengthwise
2 large tomatoes, cut into wedges
salt and sugar
cooking oil – I…

View original post 167 more words

Leave a Reply

