Fabio Rojas. (2011). Grad Skool Rulz.

I had some doubts as I paid two dollars for this pdf, but my god, I should have bought more copies for my loved ones (mostly fellow grad students) as Christmas gifts. It quickly sorted out all the tacit knowledge that I gathered laboriously over the years and went so much beyond. I skipped much of after-becoming-a-professor-part, but the part on choosing schools is very informative. Do buy the book and read it if you are or planning to become a graduate student. Especially enlightening were the passages about grad school having little or no structure after some stage, generating poorly defined personal boundaries, and that there is no “boss” other than myself.

Leave a Reply

