Day 33: Bruschetta con pomodoro

cookwithmir

Today, I was inspired by our loaf of just stale bread- what’s the best way to get flavor and enjoyment out of something that I’d normally just throw away? The answer came to me as bruschetta, topped with tomatoes. According to my research, bruschetta actually only refers to the toast, often flavored with garlic, olive oil, and salt. Any toppings aren’t part of the actual bruschetta.

I started out by slicing my bread and spreading it lightly on either side with some good olive oil before placing it in a metal tray to toast in the oven. While I baked the bread until browned and crispy, I prepared my tomato topping, mixing two diced tomatoes, some olive oil, chopped fresh basil, and a little bit of salt and ground black pepper.

With the bread out of the oven, I cut a few cloves of garlic in half and rubbed them…

View original post 104 more words

Leave a Reply

